The Bird and the Sword by Amy Harmon

the-bird-and-the-sword-full-wrap

Synopsis:

Swallow, Daughter, pull them in, those words that sit upon your lips. Lock them deep inside your soul, hide them ‘til they’ve time to grow. Close your mouth upon the power, curse not, cure not, ‘til the hour. You won’t speak and you won’t tell, you won’t call on heav’n or hell. You will learn and you will thrive. Silence, Daughter. Stay alive.

The day my mother was killed, she told my father I wouldn’t speak again, and she told him if I died, he would die too. Then she predicted the king would trade his soul and lose his son to the sky.

My father has a claim to the throne, and he is waiting in the shadows for all of my mother’s words to come to pass. He wants desperately to be king, and I just want to be free.

But freedom will require escape, and I’m a prisoner of my mother’s curse and my father’s greed. I can’t speak or make a sound, and I can’t wield a sword or beguile a king. In a land purged of enchantment, love might be the only magic left, and who could ever love . . . a bird?

http://www.goodreads.com/book/show/29008738-the-bird-and-the-sword

 

The writing style is matured and well grounded (not too much to boggle the mind but enough to pass the right information) the plot is unique in it’s own way and it’s a breathe of fresh air at a time where every story is starting to merge in the mind cuz they all seem to follow a particular line.  It does also cuz all in this genre seems to but it manage to stand out in it’s own right.  And thankfully no love triangle (big fat dance to that).

Characterization- everybody in this book has a strong voice, no weakling (well except for the council elders).

The morals- words are powerful, watch what you say for we all have the ability to cure or curse with our words.

I give it 5/5 stars

My rants:

In His word- Let their be life

I saw this and I was immediately sold. Am a Christian, a firm believer in God so seeing this I was immediately sold, I was going through…….you know that feeling you get when you just finished a really good book that you didn’t want to end but it did and it left you high so you start looking for more books but due to the high effect you don’t have the patience for anything less or any interest in character introduction or world building (even though you know they are important) you just want to get to the good part? You know that feeling? Yeah….i just finished reading The Wall of Winnerberg pure romance is a genre I stay far away from because it’s always almost crap but I enjoyed reading this and was looking for more. …. Anyway I digress. I just finished reading that and wanted more but without the patience for it so I started rereading old books I’ve read and enjoyed but even that didn’t help. I picked up this book cuz I remembered contemplating between this and TWW (TWW worn because I wanted to give the fantasy world a break and am not a big fan of Sci Fi or dystopian novels) so I picked it up an d when I saw this

 

For the word is quick and powerful

sharper than any two edged sword

Piercing event to the dividing asunder

Of soul and spirit

Of joints and marrow

It is a discerner of the thoughts

And intents of the heart

I was hooked. The book didn’t disappoint. I highly recommend this book.

Leave a Reply

