THE STAR TOUCHED QUEEN (BOOK REVIEW)

download

“Fate and fortune. Power and passion. What does it take to be the queen of a kingdom when you’re only seventeen?

 

Maya is cursed. With a horoscope that promises a marriage of death and destruction, she has earned only the scorn and fear of her father’s kingdom. Content to follow more scholarly pursuits, her whole world is torn apart when her father, the Raja, arranges a wedding of political convenience to quell outside rebellions. Soon Maya becomes the queen of Akaran and wife of Amar. Neither roles are what she expected: As Akaran’s queen, she finds her voice and power. As Amar’s wife, she finds something else entirely: Compassion. Protection. Desire…

 

But Akaran has its own secrets—thousands of locked doors, gardens of glass, and a tree that bears memories instead of fruit. Soon, Maya suspects her life is in danger. Yet who, besides her husband, can she trust? With the fate of the human and Otherworldly realms hanging in the balance, Maya must unravel an ancient mystery that spans reincarnated lives to save those she loves the most…including herself.”

 

Four main points from this book;

1.IT’S THE MOST CONFUSING BOOK HAVE READ SO FAR: There are names in this book I can’t pronounce (actually I think there’s not a name in the book I can pronounce). The beings in the novel has confusing names that does nothing in telling what they are and what they do and even the ones that were explained? I think the explanation just makes things worst. And sometimes the poetry can be sweet, swoon worthy but also choking and disconcerting the same paragraph  ,

 

“Although I had never envisioned marriage, I had thought of love. Not the furtive love I heard muffled in the corners or rooms of some of the harem wives. What I wanted was a connection, a shared heartbeat that kept rhythm across oceans and worlds. I didn’t want the prince from the folktales or some milk-skinned, honey-eyed youth who said his greetings and proclaimed his love in the same breath. I wanted a love thick with time, as inscrutable as if a lathe had carved it from night and as familia”

“I want to share whole worlds with you and write your name in the stars.”

“I want to measure eternity with your laughter.”

The fu*k that means?

I have no understanding of the world or the palace, am still trying to wrap my head around a room/world? and already am being thrust into another(Calm the muse and gimme a chance to catch up will you?) .

2.MAYA IS A FOOL: How many times could one person possibly screw up before wising up(her screw up’s just two but it feels like a hundred), I mean hasn’t she heard the advice not to rush into judgment before you’ve had all your facts?.what’s worst is her judgments are usually not the easy ones that can easily be retraced but huge world damming decisions that not only affects her but her ‘love’ at best and the ‘world’ at worst. I mean seriously I felt like reaching my hand inside to smack some sense into her like ‘girl cool your horses, get your facts straight before plunging the knife into the tree or jumping into the reincarnation pool….seriously!’.  And of course all is forgiving and wrongs are made right but has she really learnt her lessons ?. Also Amar’s the most boring love interest have ever read in a book with all the power he has, I mean I can’t pin point just one thing to make him stand out. Sure he’s powerful and all but all I can remember about him is him pinning away for his love and “standing beside her,not in front or behind but in front’. I mean seriously? (I find my self saying this a lot throughout the book). I hate to compare books cuz that’s unwise and unfair but I can’t help myself here, Tamlin too needed saving but even in his “captivity” he still managed to project power and while Feyre was doing the work trying to free him, Sarah J Mass still managed not to let him go into oblivion in the process. I think authors are so engulfed in trying to make badass heroines that they sometimes write the hero into oblivion. Feyre is powerful but so is Tamlin and  Rhys is another level of badass, he probably gave the word meaning.

 

3.I RATE IT 3 OUT OF 5: Despite it’s shortcomings  I still enjoyed reading the book. It gave a fresh kind of view into human character, shortcomings and defects , how powerful a split moment decision can be . Whether for good or evil. And also the consequences that can come with them. Because it’s a book with an ending things get sorted but in real life things don’t always happen like that. Split second decisions that takes us away from things that could have made us happy for the rest of our life, things that could have brought us to completion and truly quench the aches of our heart. Life is very precarious and sometimes we don’t realize it, like the thread in the novel a yank could lead either way. This novel really stirred me up and it’s a cool breeze from the usual fairy-tale story (though I love me fairy-tales, life is hard enough. Books are means of escape). I really enjoy this book despite the fact it was confusing and choking a times (there’s a glossary at the end though, I didn’t read it but it’s available. Just thought to mention that ), I don’t like things that confuse me ( it’ll bug at me till I find answers ….stressful) I still like the book so 3 out of 5 and I’LL STILL RECOMMEND IT (never going to reread it though).

4.KUDOS TO ROSHANI CHOKSHI- I  think this’s her first book (I could be wrong, don’t quote me on that) and it really is not bad for a debut, definitely not less just too much.

This book is not on my tbr but abookutopia rec’d it on her YouTube channel  and I think her recs are golden except JENNIFER L. ARMENTROUT books( it seems not to be my kind of scenery, have only read 3 of her books though…..and am yet to complete the series but am not dying to either……The LUX SERIES

One thought on “THE STAR TOUCHED QUEEN (BOOK REVIEW)

Leave a Reply

