MORE OF A RANT THAN A BOOK REVIEW

 

I’ve read 3 out of the 15 books I have in my August tbr , I was supposed to upload a post on that and it’s even written already but getting images and blurbs proves to be a lot o work and even though I still tried ,my network seems to have another thought so here I am talking about a tbr you know nothing of a ( I MIGHT still put it up but still then just pretend you know what am talking about)

Like I said I’ve read 3 of my tbr i.e. CINDER,RED QUEEN and MY LIFE NEXT DOOR. Only MY LIFE NEXT DOOR inspired a review out of me not because the others weren’t good but I guess they are just not my kind of cocktail.

I used to read a lot when I was in secondary school ( don’t know what’s called in other part of the world….high school?)  and then  sort of  grow out of it and into movies . Recently though , thanks to this lovely girl in my department I got into reading again. During the dry period I saw the movie twilight and found fanfic and it was love at first sight, I read a lot of wonderful variation of Edward and Bella stories

; real good award deserving stories.

Getting back into reading real published books made me realized I’ve probably being jaded by all those stories because it takes a lot (or a little), like a real lot ( or real little) to get my interest in a book. In addition to that is  my anxiety episodes, I love stories that are long but it also feels me with dread thinking about all that could possibly go wrong in the book before I can get to the happily ever after,   and then I found out most books comes in series now so I might not even get the happy ending till like book 4 (  I do not like books with tragic ending, it leaves me in a funk for days and I think life has enough sadness I do not need to actively seek out more) seriously people the struggle is real .

 

On to the review…….

download.jpg

CINDER

At first I was just turning the pages so I could finish it but when I couldn’t find the will to go on I turn to goodreads to learn what the story was about cuz I haven’t yet figure it out, I went in blind ( something I try not to do, anxiety and all) and the review wasn’t really encouraging, it wasn’t my kind of fix. I continued still because of all the good reviews. Some  100+ pages and still no sparks (I  mean the giddy feeling of a good story………. not the romantic type…..right….) I thought I’ll finish that page and cut my losses but what do you know ….sparks!.

 

The major gist……I liked it, will read the rest of the series but not too much in a hurry to get to it

 

3 out of  5

images (1)

RED QUEEN

I didn’t go in blind with this, read the blurbs and some reviews . I read the book and I do not like it . Not because of some writing flaws or world building problem ( am really not a good judge of those kind of things, it’s either I like the book or not. Trying to dissect into the way of writing is like inviting a mental break down Which is why I always emphasize on this being the opinion of just a girl who likes to read not a professional review.)

 

The major gist……….I don’t like it and most probably won’t be continuing the series ( that’s not a certainty though, might just pick up the next book tomorrow if it bothers me much. I hate not knowing how a story ends )

 

No rating, won’t be fair to the author

images (2).jpg

MY LIFE NEXT DOOR

  1. Love .It . Not in a A COURT OF MIST AND FURY way or Rick Riordan series or Mercy Thompson series way  but it’s the closet have come to really enjoying a book since I read the above stated, read the whole book in a day. Moved on to WHAT I THOUGHT WAS TRUE cuz I thought it was continuation …… alas it was not. It would have being sweet if it was continued tho (  annoying right ?……it’s the book you want to be a series that happens to be stand alones ).

 

The major gist ……..I love it

 

4 out of 5 stars

 

I apologize for the long ‘review’ and I applaud you for sticking around……..you have my solemn respect ( I don’t give it out easily…. I think?)

 

DON’T LET THIS REVIEW STOP YOU FROM READING THE BOOKS IF YOU’VE NOT READ THEM, YOU MIGHT LOVE THEM ( ok am using the word too much it’s making me twitch) AND YOU CAN TELL ME HOW WRONG I WAS AND MAYBE IT’LL BE THE INITIATIVE I NEED TO READ THE REST OF THE SERIES OF CINDER AND RED QUEEN. AND WHO KNOWS MAYBE IT’LL BE LIKE ACOMAF THAT I DIDN’T WANT TO READ BUT ENDED UP BEING ONE OF MY ALL TIME FAVOURITE ( IF ANYBODY IS INTERESTED IN SOME OF THE FANFIC STORIES LET ME KNOW AND I’LL DO RECOMMENDATIONS)

 

Leave a Reply

